Phrazes for the Young

Thursday, November 5, 2009

oh yeah before I go on hiatus, I would like to post it here..

This is actually the debut solo album by the American greatest songwriter which is also The Strokes front man Julian Casablancas. Phrazes for the Young is released on November 2, 2009 in the UK and November 3 in the US.

The track listing is as follows:
1. "Out of the Blue" 4:41
2. "Left & Right in the Dark" 4:54
3. "11th Dimension" 4:03
4. "4 Chords of the Apocalypse" 4:59
5. "Ludlow St." 5:42
6. "River of Brakelights" 5:08
7. "Glass" 5:20
8. "Tourist" 5:02
9. "Old Hollywood (iTunes bonus track)" 4:33
10. "30 Minute Boyfriend (iTunes bonus track)" 3:31
11. "I Wish It Was Christmas Today (iTunes bonus track)" 3:11

I’ve already listened to the full album. Gosh, I should say I like it. Well I’m a huge fan of this man when he was with The Strokes. Oh he still does by the way but waiting for their latest album is quite tiring. It’s a good thing that he came with a debut solo album so that their fans would not be so boring waiting. And that would be me. The album is different from The Strokes album as this is Julian’s solo so I cannot compare it with The Strokes. I like his voice but somehow as a whole I don’t really dig the sound. The album is good, songs are all great but the music itself didn’t do for me. I don’t know. I should have listened to it few more times. Then maybe I might change my view about the music. Among the songs I think I like are Ludlow St, I Wish It Was Christmas Today, and 4 Chords of the Apocalypse. However I’m still excited for the upcoming Strokes album. Hoping it will be worth the wait.

p/s: You can listen to the full stream of the whole album in here.">

0 response(s):